Personal tools

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

awards & funding

award submissions

At our conference in Washington, DC in March 2015, ASEH presented awards to Philipp Lehmann (pictured here with Julie Cohn of the Rachel Carson Prize committee) for best dissertation; Fasail Hussain (pictured here with journal editor Lisa Brady) for best article; Marty Reuss for the Public Outreach Career Award; and Joel Tarr for the Distinguished Service Award. See awards section of this website for a full list of award recipients.

You are here: Home / awards & funding / award submissions

award submissions

ASEH offers eight awards, which have different submission requirements - all are described below.

Outstanding Scholarship:

Each year, the ASEH awards the following four prizes for outstanding scholarship in the field of environmental history. Click on the award below to obtain the instructions for submitting your work for consideration.

    Service and Achievement Awards:

    ASEH also recognizes service and achievement in environmental history through the following four awards:

    • Distinguished Scholar Award given every two years to an individual who has contributed significantly to environmental history scholarship; membership in ASEH is not required.
    • Distinguished Service Award given every year to an individual who has contributed significantly to the development of ASEH as an organization; membership in ASEH is required.
    • Public Outreach Project Award presented every two years to an environmental history project that engages the public. We will be accepting applications for this award in 2015.
    • Distinguished Career in Public Environmental History presented every two years to an individual who has promoted environmental history to the public over time. We are accepting applications for this award in 2014.

    Instructions for Submitting for four awards described above:

    Anyone can nominate candidates for the above four service and achievement awards, and ASEH's executive committee appoints a committee to select the recipients. Current members of ASEH's executive committee are not eligible while they are serving. If you would like to nominate someone, send their name(s) and a brief description to Deadline: November 16, 2015.


    Pictured left: Susan Flader, recipient of ASEH's Distinguished Service award, and Donald Worster, ASEH's Distinguished Scholar awardee, celebrate with ASEH President Doug Weiner in 2004.

    Document Actions
    news and events

    ASEH summer internship available. Click here for more info.

    Click here to view Call for Proposals, Seattle 2016 conference.

    Click here to view the new virtual edition of our journal, Environmental History, focusing on environmental justice.

    Click here to read President Gregg Mitman's comments from plenary session at Second World Congress of Environmental History, Portugal.

    Are you an ASEH member interested in hosting our annual conference? Click here for more info.

    See Call for Proposals for hosting the environmental history world congress in 2019. Click here for more info.

    Sign up for ASEH's membership directory - click here for more info.

    spring poll
    If ASEH organized online EH research and writing seminars, would you participate?

    Votes : 34