Personal tools

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home / about aseh / presidents


  • John Opie 1977-1979
  • Wilbur L. Jacobs 1979-1980
  • Donald Worster 1980-1982
  • Morgan Sherwood 1982-1985
  • Clayton R. Koppes 1985-1987
  • John F. Richards 1987-1989
  • William Cronon 1989-1993
  • Martin Melosi 1993-1995
  • Susan Flader 1995-1997
  • Donald Pisani 1997-1999
  • Jeffrey K. Stine 1999-2001
  • Carolyn Merchant 2001-2003
  • Douglas Weiner 2003-2005
  • Stephen Pyne 2005-2007
  • Nancy Langston 2007-2009
  • Harriet Ritvo 2009-2011
  • John McNeill 2011-2013
  • Gregg Mitman, 2013-2015
  • Kathleen Brosnan, 2015-2017
  • Graeme Wynn, 2017-2019
Document Actions
news and events

Click here to read ASEH's response to the recent executive order regarding immigration

Click here to register for ASEH's conference in Chicago (March 29-April 2, 2017). Chicago is a sanctuary city that welcomes citizens of all nations.

Notify the Trump Administration and Members of Congress that you support the National Endowment for the Humanities:

Click here to support our Education Committee's initiative "Greening the K-12 Curriculum"

Click here to view Middle East Studies Association's statement on threats to academic freedom in Turkey (ASEH signed).

Click here to read about how environmental history is "the field with the largest proportional expansion" in the last 40 years.

Click here to view ASEH's statement on "Campus Carry" legislation.

Click here to view plenary talk by EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy (from our 2015 conference in Washington, DC).

Click here to view letter from ASEH to EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy requesting that the agency re-open its history program.

Click here to view the latest bulletin from the International Consortium of EH Organizations (ICEHO).

Are you an ASEH member interested in hosting our annual conference? Click here for more info.

spring poll
If ASEH offered webinars on specific EH topics for members, would you participate?

Votes : 4